Short Teaser Released for “The Batman” Ahead of DC Fandome Trailer

 Short Teaser Released for “The Batman” Ahead of DC Fandome Trailer

IMDB/WB/”The Batman” 2022

In the beginning, DC Comics had a stronghold on my heart. It literally started as a kid when I used to watch Batman cartoons before trying to save the world (or, the backyard) myself. The love has waned and I began sleeping with Marvel. But it’s possible that when The Batman hits theaters next year, I could come crawling back like a lover after a failed breakup.

The Batman begins showing in US theaters on March 4, 2022 and the hype is building. A short teaser was released today, just before this weekend’s premiere of the anticipated trailer at DC Fandome. “It’s not just a signal; it’s a warning,” says the scruffy voice in the teaser.

A “Masterpiece”

The Batman actor Andy Serkis says the film will be a “masterpiece”. He will take on the role as Alfred and work alongside Robert Pattinson, who will star as Bruce Wayne. Serkis cites the film’s director, Matt Reeves, and his dedication to the project as the north-star of its success.

He told Screenrant, “I’ll tell you that it was fantastic being reunited with Matt Reeves, [producer] Dylan Clark and [VFX supervisor] Dan Lemmon from the Apes films. We had such a great time making it, and when it eventually comes to the screen, Matt Reeves will have made another masterpiece film because he’s so super-invested in it. But yeah, I’ve been forbidden, expressly forbidden, to talk about Alfred.

One of my favorite DCEU villains makes a return and Reeves believes it will leave a lasting impression. The Riddler will be terrorizing Gotham as a serial killer, played by Paul Dano.  Zoë Kravitz will play Catwoman, Colin Farrell as Penguin, and John Turturro as Carmine Falcone.

Check out last year’s trailer from DC Fandome and then watch this weekend for the next. DC FanDome’s second-annual virtual event premieres on October 16 at 10 am Pacific / 1 pm Eastern / 6 pm UK (that’s October 17 at 3 am AEST).

Brians World